CT Department of Banking
The CT Department of Banking is the state agency with the responsibility for administrating and licensing mortgage lending and mortgage loan originators.
HUD is the federal agency authorized to implement the SAFE Act and other important federal mortgage regulations. This status is scheduled to change in July, 2011 when the Consumer Financial Protection Agency assumes these responsibilities.
S.A.F.E Act
Lenders and Loan Originators should become familiar with ALL SAFE Act and State of Connecticut licensing requirements. 
Consumer Financial Protection Agency (Bureau)
The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act of 2010 (Dodd-Frank Act) established the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and directed that it become responsible for interpreting and implementing the SAFE Act as of July 21, 2011.
Please call the CMBA office at 860-348-1238 or email us at info@cmba.org with any questions.



CMBA Advisory Council Sponsors

Bendett & McHugh PC
Birchwood Credit Services
Connecticut Attorney's Title Insurance Company (CATIC)
Chelsea Groton Bank
Fairfield County Bank
Farmington Bank
First American Title Insurance Company
First County Bank
First World Mortgage Corp.
Genworth Financial
Guilford Savings Bank
Liberty Bank
McCalla Raymer Leibert Pierce LLC
McCue Mortgage Company
Norcom Mortgage
People's United Bank
Radian Guaranty, Inc
Robinson & Cole
Sikorsky Credit Union
Simsbury Bank
Strategic Information Resources
Thomaston Savings Bank
The Washington Trust Mortgage Mortgage Company
Webster Bank
Wells Fargo Home Mortgage
  • New England College
  • Ad B